Wedding weight-loss regiment 7

The other day during our tango practica I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror and instead of cringing, I was surprised by what I saw.

What has changed? Not so much the scale, but I’ve adapted part of the slow-carb diet to more of a paleo diet in the evenings. My way of adapting the slow-carb diet to this diet is to eliminate the beans in the evening. When I did this at first, by accident, I felt the difference immediately the next day. I had possibly entered kitosis. I didn’t know what was going on, but I knew I was losing something.

The scale has gone down a pound or so, but nothing to brag about yet. I just feel it and apparently I look it too.

Body fat index – the thing Tim Ferris, founder of the slow-carb diet, insists dieters take from the start, is what I’m lacking. With my increase in exercise, I have gained muscle, and possible bone mass, so the scale is not moving. However, I have definitely dropped a clothing size from 10 to 8 and am nearing size 6. I have had fun fitting into clothes that I was starting to fear I would never again wear! Whew! What a relief that I can loose weight.

All of this has brought home one important point about veganism, protein sources and carbs. I think it is wrong to eat animals when there is an alternative protein source available. However, lately I’ve been forced to question the viability of tofu and wheat glutin as a viable protein source if you care about how I care about how I look. I’m realizing that a vegan diet was not the right diet for me. I am still not totally satisfied with this last statement, and am working on a solution. However, the situation is grim. My body may demand real meat in order to maintain a healthy weight.

One thought on “Wedding weight-loss regiment 7

Leave a Reply

